Governments-Unitary Con-Federal and Federal

The key differences among the three government systems are based on the placement and sharing of power. The unitary system of government places much of its power at a central level. The central government acts in control of all the weaker states and counties as the system does not allow for power-sharing mechanisms. A good example of a country that practices this form of governance is China. In such countries, all the major decisions are made by the central government, and the political structures outside the central government have minimal powers. Most of the unitary governments are either totalitarians or dictatorships: PLAGIARIZED SAMPLE: ORDER YOUR PAPER NOW

The con-federal system of government is made up of a weak central government and very powerful state or county governments. In con-federal governments, the states and counties have the authority to retain almost all the powers of the nation. The states collect taxes, raise their own military forces and print currency. The central government is only granted the powers to make foreign policies and other related powers. In some cases, the national government is not allowed to collect its own taxes. Confederations are hardly applied today as they weaken the central governments.

The federal government system distributes powers from the central government to the local or state governments. Thus, power is diffused in the countries practicing federalism and governments implement reasonable laws both at the national and state level. The United States adopted a federal government system with the constitutions both at the national and state levels in conjunction. The government system applied in the United States is the most preferable. It promotes democracy through the decentralization of powers. It helps to preserve diversity and varied identities within a large political structure. It also accommodates territorial ideologies enhancing freedom.


error: Content is protected !!